“Introspective Time”

"Introspective Time"

“Introspective Time”

I asked it not to run so fast
but it pretended didn’t hear me;
I thought I’d learned too much to ask it to perfect me,
it was smiling;
I asked it then to let me fall asleep,
was no allowance dozen times and dozen were;
For what I asked to send us love,
I got no certain answer;
Now I don’t ask it,
I don’t deserve perhaps, perhaps I do,
or didn’t see what else I could to please it when I did my duty –
I’m still alive, and walk in beauty…

Leave a Reply

